Home/What to See /Williamsville Community Profile & Itinerary
Search 66
Williamsville Community Profile & Itinerary
Description

Williamsville is a charming small town of nearly 1500 residents full of community pride and volunteerism that has made the town a wonderful place to live for its residents. The community has embraced their Route 66 heritage, working hard to attract visitors from around the globe. Visitors can connect with friends and loved ones during their 66 travels through the Williamsville streaming web-camera at the Route 66 International Multi Directional Sign.


CLICK HERE FOR PRINTABLE/DOWNLOADABLE VERSION


ATTRACTIONS

The Old Station

This 1930’s service station is a work in progress. Plans are in progress to restore its classic facade, utilizing its vintage gas pumps and signage. For now, it is still a classic photo opportunity for Route 66 travelers.

117 North Elm Street

Historic Downtown Williamsville

Take a walk around Williamsville’s Downtown; stop, rest and enjoy the charm and nostalgia of what the area represents. Visit the interpretive signs depicting local history at the corners of Main and Pine Streets. The Northeast corner details local history about the Illinois Interurban Railway as well as Early Settlers and the first survey of the Village. Learn about how Williamsville was first named Benton. The Southwest corner details the Downtown Business District and Farm Community, as it was when Route 66, and the small towns along it, thrived. Enjoy a picnic on the Boulevard’s green space.

(217) 566-3520

Historic Downtown Williamsville Official Website

Williamsville Public Library and Museum

View exhibits demonstrating the historical significance and unique character of the Village. Search our history and genealogy resources including an extensive collection of local artifacts, photos, objects and

records. View the Looking for Lincoln byway signage detailing Williamsville’s connection to President Lincoln.

217 North Elm Street

(217) 566-3520

Williamsville Public Library and Museum Official Website

Williamsville Park-Trail-Lake

Willliamsville’s Lake, Trail and its Samuel H. Jones Park are an interconnected outdoor recreational experience. The village park offers plenty of green space to walk the dog, let the kids play or to have a picnic while taking a respite from the road. Get moving on the walking trail that surrounds Williamsville

Lake where you can bike, fish or even catch a glimpse of our resident eagle pair.

706 East Main Street

(217) 566-3520

Williamsville Railroad Depot and Box Cars

First constructed in 1854, the Railroad Depot was the foundation to Williamsville’s growth and development. Visit the Route 66 Wayside Exhibit and an interpretive sign depicting the Railroad’s significance to local history. Two Union Pacific rail cars were configured in the early 1990s as a structure, serving as a cultural resource that illustrates the significance of the Railroad to the Village.

102 South Elm Street

(217) 566-3520

Williamsville Celebrates Route 66 International Traveler Multi-Directional Sign

Williamsville’s Route 66 multi-directional sign acknowledges the large number of international travelers that drive along Route 66. The sign was designed and produced by individual members of the Sangamon

Valley Woodcarvers and includes: Germany, United Kingdom, Canada, China, Australia, Czechoslovakia, Japan, France, Italy and Holland. New York, Chicago and Los Angeles also have a place alongside the countries. A streaming web-cam allows travelers to connect with their loved ones around the world.

217 North Elm Street

(217) 566-3520

Williamsville Celebrates the Route 66 International Traveler Multi-Directional Sign Official Site

Williamsville, Illinois Route 66 Wayside Exhibit

Doing Business on “Main Street”
Highway traffic was lifeblood for family businesses on “America’s Main Street.” Route 66 linked farm towns like Williamsville with the nation and brought travelers seeking food and fuel. In good times, Americans took jaunts for “kicks.” During World War II and the Great Depression, it was driven by troops and job seekers. Business on Route 66 was always good.
Before 1941, Route 66 ran through the heart of Williamsville. Cafes and service stations opened to serve travelers. The Turner Garage and Gas Station was located across the street where the community center is today. The road curved here, a hazard to speeding motorists. A 1941 newspaper account of a car crashing into the garage (above) reported “15 accidents here in the past three and a half years.”
Bypassing Main Street
To be faster and safer, Route 66 was enlarged to four lanes, bypassed towns, and in 1977 was replaced by I-55. With each change, businesses moved or died. Today, only a few franchise service stations survive at access ramps.
Service Stations
Service stations lived up to their name during the heyday of Route 66. Station owners, like Bill Fawns, wore their uniforms with pride! Fawn’s Service Station and Route 66 Café, located on the bypass, served travelers during the 1950s and 60s.


MAJOR EVENTS

Williamsville Fall Festival

Downtown Williamsville

Each September the Village of Williamsville hosts their annual Fall Festival featuring the Williamsville Reunion on Friday, and on Saturday, the Backyard BBQ Cook-Off Throwdown, the annual Fishing Derby, and the annual Cruise-In.

Williamsville Fall Festival Official Website


AMENITIES

Village of Williamsville

141 West Main

(217) 566-3806

wville@gcctv.com

Village of Williamsville Official Website

Williamsville Businesses & Restaurants

GOOGLE MAP:
Location
Alignment 1926||1930||1940
Central Region

Williamsville, IL
62693

Contact
(217) 566-3806
Related Images
Information Requested is Not Found
Related Videos
Information Requested is Not Found